That's what our competitors would have you take for full mitochondria support71, from 23 separate bottles. We disagree. Presenting Essential™: full mitochondria support in a mug.
Mitochondria support is five stages — Signal, Build, Fuel, Protect, Clear. Most products sell one; the broadest covers two and part of a third, and leaves the rest to you. This page puts them beside Essential™: which stages each covers, what the five cost together per day, and how many doses sit at a dose a human trial actually used.
| Product | Stages covered | Left to you | What it does well |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tru Niagen | Build | Signal, Fuel, Protect, Clear | Multiple human RCTs on nicotinamide riboside |
| Elysium | Build | Signal, Fuel, Protect, Clear | Published trials, named scientists |
| Renue by Science | Build | Signal, Fuel, Protect, Clear | The widest NAD+ range and formats; fewer published endpoints |
| MitoQ | partial Protect | Signal, Build, Fuel, Clear, and the rest of Protect | Mitochondria-targeted delivery, demonstrated in humans |
| Timeline / Mitopure | One step of Clear | Signal, Build, Fuel, Protect, and the rest of Clear | 25 human trials over 18 years on urolithin A8 — the deepest record in the table |
| Nootropics Depot | Signal | Build, Fuel, Protect, Clear | Per-batch assays published; erinacine A stated by name on the label4 |
| Qualia Mitochondria+ | partial Build, partial Fuel, partial Protect, Clear | Signal, and the rest of Build, Fuel, and Protect | An in-house research programme; 11 of 33 actives at a studied dose9 |
| Rewire Coffee™ | Signal, Build, Fuel | Protect, Clear | Lion’s mane, NMN and creatine, each at its studied dose. |
| Essential™ | Signal, Build, Fuel, Protect, Clear | Nothing — all five stages are covered in full. | Every dose published next to its human study; all 23 at or above the studied dose |
Essential's 23 actives from 23 bottles and tubs71.
Every competitor's row above equals one day at our doses, priced from their own label10. See the price →
Not a price comparison — a dose-discipline one: how much of what you buy sits at a dose a human trial used. All three figures count the doses each label publishes, ours from the Evidence page, theirs from their own panel.
Erinacine A. Crosses into the brain and raises NGF, the signal that grows neurons and wires new connections between them. The one lion's mane compound with a human trial behind it1.
Erinacine C. Raises NGF and BDNF. In the lab it induced even more NGF than erinacine A1.
Hericenones C, D and E. The compounds behind lion's mane fruiting body's neurological activity, and entirely missing from every other product42. They raise NGF in the brain's astrocytes. The fruiting body also raises BDNF70.
Per serving, from each label15.
| Product | Mushroom a serving | Mushroom active named on the label | Also in the cup |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ryze | 2,000 mg, six-mushroom blend, no split | none | MCT and fibre, amounts not disclosed |
| MUD\WTR | 2,240 mg, four mushrooms on grain | none | cacao and spice, amounts not disclosed |
| Four Sigmatic Focus | 500 mg lion’s mane and chaga combined | none | — |
| Everyday Dose | 1,500 mg lion’s mane and chaga combined | none | 4,000 mg collagen, 150 mg L-theanine |
| Rewire Coffee | 2,000 mg lion’s mane: 1,000 mg of pure liquid-fermented mycelium powder, 1,000 mg concentrated fruiting body extract | erinacine A 5 mg1 and erinacine C 2.4 mg; hericenones C, D and E, 10 mg together42 | L-theanine 200 mg, creatine 5 g, NMN 1 g, MCT 4.2 g, rhodiola 170 mg, apigenin 50 mg, riboflavin 10 mg |
ErinaMax, Real Mycelium™ and Rewire: the same ErinaPrime® mycelium →
The NAD+ Triad™: make it, keep it, use it. Per serving, from each label69.
| Product | Make it | Keep it (blocks CD38) | Use it (sirtuins) | A week |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tru Niagen | NR 300 mg | — | — | $11.43 |
| Elysium Basis | NR 250 mg | — | pterostilbene 50 mg | $15.17 |
| Renue by Science NAD+ Complete | NMN 210 mg, NR 100 mg, trigonelline 170 mg, NAD+ 160 mg | — | — | $9.91 |
| Qualia Mitochondria+ | niacin 125 mg | apigenin 20 mg | resveratrol 10 mg | $44.75 |
| Rewire Coffee™ | NMN 1,000 mg | apigenin 50 mg46 | — | $14 |
| Essential™ | NMN 1,000 mg | apigenin 50 mg, luteolin 200 mg46 | pterostilbene 250 mg35 | $28 |